Ottershaw Village Hall, also known as Brook Hall, is a charming, traditional, small village Hall, serving the community of Ottershaw and surrounding areas. The Hall provides a valuable focus for local groups, clubs, societies and social gatherings. It enjoys the patronage of a large number of regular users and supporters, as well as being available for private hire. It is ideal for children’s parties, amateur dramatics and as a venue for talks, classes, meetings and presentations.
Ottershaw Village Hall is situated on the north side of Brox Road at the junction with Murray Road, Ottershaw, close to the Otter / Harvester roundabout.
History of Ottershaw Village Hall
In 1930, Brook Hall was donated to Ottershaw Parochial Church Council (PCC) in memory of the Reverend Arthur Brook, by his wife Eliza Brook and their daughter Mary Lilian. The original building was destroyed by fire during the Second World War when it was being used as a temporary fire station by the Addlestone Fire Brigade. The present building was erected soon after the Second World War, since when it has been extended and altered over the years and has always been well used by the local community.
In 2008, a new independent Ottershaw Village Hall management committee formed to take over the running of the Hall, becoming a registered charity. Its trustees are representatives of the village and local community and are required to promote and coordinate the day-to-day management of the Hall and to organise and oversee the refurbishment of the Hall.